Joy Villa’s Bowie Connection

Joy Villa, the recording artist who wore the “Make America Great Again” dress to the Grammy Awards in honor of President Donald Trump last week, made such an impact with the public that for most of last week her 2014 EP “I Make the Static” was the #1 album for sales on iTunes and Amazon.  Concerning the reception she received, Joy told Breitbart:

Honestly, I did get some hate. I got some dirty looks. I got a guy who said, ‘I would like to step on it.’ You know. I got the negativity. But they didn’t come up to me and say anything except for that one person. The people who poured their heart and soul and actually came up to me and took photos with me and said I just wanted to tell you I love you. I love your dress. I love what you’re doing. Those were the overwhelming majority that day. Even at the Grammys.

Curiously, more digging about Joy uncovers a connection to the late great David Bowie, the Thin White Duke, whom we at IPR-X previously connected to Trump’s rise.  Joy is married to Danish photographer Thorsten Overgaard.  On his website, we find a multitude of articles featuring his photography, including some photos of Joy.  One article from February of last year titled “Remembering David Bowie” discusses the impact Bowie had on both Overgaard and Joy. Overgaard writes:

Joy and I happen to have had Ziggy Stardust as the soundtrack to our romance the first 6-9 months of our time together. When traveling from New York through Canada, Europe and to Asia we had it on repeat.

Apart from that period, Bowie haven’t filled our thoughts much of the time.

But when he died, you realize what you lost.

The article also shows Joy’s personal tribute to Bowie.  Just like her tribute to President Trump, Joy honored Bowie through a dress.  After last year’s Grammys, Overgaard and Joy visited Garbage Gone Glam where they created a dress on Joy’s body made up of Bowie album covers.

m2424666_lr6-process-2010-640w

Garbage Gone Glam’s Kristen Alyce creates the dress on Joy’s body

workshop20nyc202016-2011-640w

Workshop photo by Mark Tenally

 

 

Leave a Reply

